5K Fundrace Map
5K Fundrace Information
Polar Express
Presidents Message
Offices & Directors
Club Members
Meeting Information
Meeting Makeups
Useful Links
Silent Auction 2020
Past Presidents 1978 to 2021
Past Presidents 1924 to 1978
Community Service Grants by App
Charitable Fund - Scholarships and Awards
Charitable Fund - Scholarships and Awards By-Laws
Contributions for Charity
Photo Album
Community Dinner Sign Up Sheet
Governors Activities
Five Avenues of Service
About Rotary
Becoming a Member
2016 Awards
Contact Us
Site Map
Officers and Directors 2017-2018


For members...

Administration Login
2016 Awards
click to print this pageprint this page



QUECHEE –  Nicolaas Bekker, president of the White River Rotary Club for two consecutive terms, received the Frank E. Kenison leadership award, a second Paul Harris Fellow Award, and special accolades from long-time Rotarian Philip Hammmond as “outstanding president” during the Rotary Club’s awards dinner Sunday evening at the Murphy Farm here. Hammond, a past district governor and one of the longest-serving members of the club, recognized Bekker with his own “Hammond Award,” presenting him with a gavel and plaque and praised him for keeping the club running smoothly since he took office eighteen months ago.


As an aside Hammond also credited Bekker with teaching him the Dutch National anthem, Wilhelm, which Hammond belted out a capella during the Rotary Club’s Christmas luncheon. Bekker is a citizen of The Netherlands.

Bekker, who recently joined the Norwich branch of Ledyard Bank after ten years with People’s United Bank, said he was “honored and humbled” by the awards.

The awards presentations were for achievements during the 2014-2015 Rotary year. Bekker’s second term ends in June and he will be succeeded by President-elect Brad Rostron.

Former Rotarian Scott Farnsworth was honored as “Rotary Citizen of the Year” and received a Paul Harris Fellow award, the highest in Rotary.


Scott Farnsworth receives Citzen of the Year Award

and Paul Harris Fellow Award


Other Paul Harris Fellow awards were presented to Club Secretary and Assistant District Governor Elect, David Saturley (his third) and Treasurer Aaron MacAskill, in addition to Bekker and Farnsworth. Paul Harris founded the first Rotary Club in Chicago in 1905 and grew up in Wallingford, Vermont.



Aaron MacAskill receives his second Paul Haris Fellow Award


Other Rotarians receiving the Paul Harris Fellow award in the past year were Saturley, Russell, Ray Sanford, George Wenz and Harold Elliot.?

Saturley also received the Leonard J. Ballou Award for Club Service and Past Assistant District Governor Nancy Russell received the Dr. Royal A. Whitney Award for service to the community.  Rotarian David Briggs gave a brief history of the two men for whom the awards were named.













             Leonard J Ballou Award                                                Dr. Royal A. Whitney Award




Rotarian Carmelle Paulson was named “Volunteer of the Year.”?


Vice President Brad Rostron, who was unable to attend the event, was named “Rotarian of the Year.”




Several Rotarians received certificates for perfect attendance during the 2014-2015 Rotary year: Kenneth Baldwin, Bekker, Hammond, Russell and Gayle Ottmann. Richard Hoffman was also recognized but was unable to attend the awards dinner.



Phil, Ken, Nancy, Gayle, Nico



Lisa Saturley was awarded a Chef's Hat for her work on the Community Dinners.?



Lisa Saturley was awarded a Chef's Hat for her work on the Community Dinners.






A.M.Peisch & Company, LLP